Professor Olaf Boedtker served as Head Advisor in the College of Science from 1973 to 1987 and provided exceptional service to students and to the College. The Boedtker Award honors advisors who follow his venerable example and recognizes exceptional and inspirational advising of undergraduate students. The Boedtker Awardee is selected by student nomination and voting with the final decision made by the Dean.

Nominate an advisor here. 


College of Science faculty and professional faculty who advise undergraduate students are eligible for nomination. This award is based on student nominations, nominate an advisor here

Selection Criteria

Selection will be based on student nominations with the final decision made by the Dean. Nominees will be evaluated based on the following:

  • Number of student nominations
  • Demonstration of exceptional undergraduate advising
  • Impact on equity within advising

Previous Award Winners

Jesus Vargas, Integrative Biology, 2023
Rachel Palmer, Integrative Biology, 2022
Tiffany Bolman, Biohealth Sciences, 2021
Alex Beck, Biohealth Sciences, 2020
Indira Rajagopal,
Biology, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2019
Kari van Zee, 
Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2018
Kari van Zee, 
Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2017
Jen Olarra, Integrative Biology, 2016
Henri Jansen, Physics, 2015
Alex Aljets, Dean's Office, 2013
Mary Flahive, Mathematics, 2012
Kevin Ahern, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2011
Larry Becker, Geosciences, 2010
Miranda Smith, Dean's Office, 2009
Jessica Cardinal-Lanier, Environmental Sciences, 2008
A. Jon Kimerling, Geosciences, 2007
Linda Bruslind, Microbiology, 2006
Thomas Dick, Mathematics, 2005 
David Horne, Chemistry, 2004 
Janice Rosenberg, Environmental Sciences. 2003 
Brock McLeod, Biology, 2003 
James Ingle, Chemistry, 2001 
Kevin Ahern, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2000 
Christine Pastorek, Chemistry, 1999 
Victoria Linehan, Environmental Science, 1999 
Richard Halse, Botany & Plant Pathology, 1998 
Sylvia Yamada, Zoology, 1997 
Philip Jackson, Geosciences, 1996 
Stacy Gaylord, Environmental Science, 1996 
Chere Pereira, Dean's Office, 1995 
Mary Ann Matzke, Dean's Office, 1995 
Mary Burke, Microbiology, 1994 
Peter Dawson, Zoology, 1993 
Patricia Muir, Botany & Plant Pathology, 1992 
Gordon Matzke, Geosciences, 1991 
Edward Taylor, Geosciences, 1990 
Wil Gamble, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 1989 
Ilsa Kaattari, Microbiology, 1988 

Back to Faculty and Staff Awards