F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science ($1,500)

The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished scholarship in science by honoring a faculty member in the College of Science whose scholarship and scientific accomplishments have extended over a substantial period of time.

Special consideration is given to candidates with research careers that have had a significant impact on his or her field. The award and public lecture represent a modest way of recognizing annually distinguished scholarship carried out by the College of Science faculty.

Nomination Guidelines
  • Nomination letter (750 words or fewer) on letterhead
  • Biographical sketch (2 pages with content that supports award)
  • List of Nominee’s most significant publications (20 maximum)
  • Support letters, one or two (400 words or fewer); writers should be external to OSU
  • Submit one-compiled pdf to research.development@science.oregonstate.edu

Nominations that do not meet the guidelines will be returned to the nominator without review.

Previous Award Winners
Heidi Schellman, Physics, 2022
Michael Freitag, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2021
Michael Blouin,Integrative Biology, 2019
May Nyman
, Chemistry, 2018
Corinne Manogue, Physics, 2017
Robert T. Mason, Integrative Biology, 2016
Janet Tate, Physics, 2015
Edward Waymire, Mathematics, 2014
Mas Subramanian, Chemistry, 2013
Andy Karplus, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2012
Stephen Giovannoni, Microbiology, 2011
Mark Hixon, Zoology, 2010
Andrew Blaustein, Zoology, 2009
Peter Clark, Geosciences, 2008
Joseph Beckman, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2007
Jane Lubchenco, Zoology, 2006
Stevan J. Arnold, Zoology, 2005
Walter Loveland, Chemistry, 2004
Daniel J. Arp, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2003
Frank L. Moore, Zoology, 2002
Douglas Keszler, Chemistry, 2001
Dennis Hruby, Microbiology, 2000
Brian Croft, Entomology, 1999
Dallice I. Mills, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1998
Bruce A. Menge, Zoology, 1997
James D. White, Chemistry, 1996
Ronald B. Guenther, Mathematics, 1995
T. Darrah Thomas, Chemistry, 1994
John D. Lattin, Entomology, 1993
John L. Fryer, Microbiology, 1992
William Sandine, Microbiology, 1991
Donald J. Reed, Biochem. & Biophysics, 1990
Christopher Mathews, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 1989
Roman Schmitt, Chemistry, 1988
Gerald Krantz, Entomology, 1987
Norman Bishop, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1986
Kenneth Hedberg, Chemistry, 1985
Kensal van Holde, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 1984

Back to Faculty and Staff Awards