Monday, March 7, 2022

The Future of Science-Thought Leadership forum will be an important part of the College of Science's strategic planning process as we develop our next Strategic Plan 2022-2027. Our intent is to provide our faculty, staff, and students the opportunity to engage in our Science community, deliberate, cast a vision for our future and plan concrete actions. Together, we will create an ambitious collective vision for the College of Science at Oregon State University that embeds equity in every aspect of our college and its processes and advances inclusive excellence in every facet of our mission.

This event will be a hybrid event (on-site and online) with opportunities for engagement.

Invited guest speakers

Our guest speakers have held leadership positions in science at the highest level. They are 

  1. Laura Greene, Chief Scientist, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory (Florida State University, University of Florida, and Los Alamos National Laboratory), Marie Krafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University.

    Forum talk: Future of Materials Research in the U.S. – Domestic and International

  2. Rosalyn (Roz) Hobson HargravesDivision Director of the Division of Undergraduate Education at the National Science Foundation and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Virginia Commonwealth University.

    Forum talk:  Advancing Access, Equity, Innovation and Excellence in Undergraduate STEM Education: Programs in the NSF Division of Undergraduate Education

  3. Holden Thorp, Editor-in-Chief, Science Family of Journals.

    Forum talk: The Future of Science is Both Exciting and Uncertain

  4. Kelvin Droegemeier, Regents Professor of Meteorology, Weathernews Chair Emeritus, and Teigen Presidential Professor at the University of Oklahoma

    Forum talk: Peering into the Crystal Ball of America’s Research Enterprise: Time to Shake the Etch-a-Sketch

Please see our IMPACT article for bios of the speakers. 

Forum Agenda

Morning Session 

8:00 a.m. – Breakfast

8:30 a.m. – Dean Haggerty introductions of speakers and provost

8:45 a.m. – Provost Edward Feser welcome

9:00 a.m. – Laura Greene

9:30 a.m. – Q&A with Laura Greene

9:45 a.m. – Break and mingle

10:00 a.m. – Breakout sessions for COS community (Please review this document for focus group questions)

11:00 a.m. – Rosalyn Hargraves (virtual)

11:30 a.m. – Q&A with Rosalyn Hargraves

11:45 a.m. – Break and mingle

Lunch: Noon - 1:30 p.m.

Afternoon Session

1:30 p.m. – Holden Thorp (virtual)

2:00 p.m. – Kelvin Droegemeier (virtual)

2:30 p.m. – Break and mingle

2:45 p.m. – Open Q&A

3:15 p.m. – Break and mingle

3:30 p.m. – Breakout Sessions for COS community (Please review this document for focus group questions)

4:30 p.m. – Strategic planning report out from both sessions

5:00 p.m. – Happy Hour

Evening session for students

6:00 p.m. – Breakout Session for COS students (Please review this document for focus group questions)

7:00 p.m. – Event ends

Download the program