Milton Harris Award in Basic Research ($1,000)

This award was endowed by G. Milton Harris, a Portland native who received his bachelor's degree in 1926 from OSU and his Ph.D. from Yale University. He was a pioneer in polymer, fiber and textile science and was the founder and for many years president of Harris Research Laboratories, which later became part of Gillette. As part of his distinguished career in chemistry, Dr. Harris served on the National Bureau of Standards and as the chair of the American Chemical Society for five years. Dr. Harris and his family were and are devoted supporters of higher education, supporting numerous scholarships, awards and faculty positions in science and engineering at OSU. Milton Harris held 35 patents for polymer-coated razor blades, permanent press treatment of wool and wrinkle-resistant cotton finishing, among others. 

The purpose of the Harris award is to recognize exceptional achievement in basic research by honoring an outstanding faculty member in the College of Science. Special consideration is given to recent research that was carried out at OSU and that will have a significant impact on its field. 

 Nomination Guidelines
  • Nomination letter on letterhead (750 words or fewer)
  • Biographical sketch (2 pages with content that supports award)
  • List of Nominee’s most significant publications (12 maximum)
  • Two support letters (400 words or fewer); writers must be external to OSU 
  • Submit one-compiled pdf to

Nominations that do not meet the guidelines will be returned to the nominator without review.

Previous Award Winners
Davide Lazzati, Physics, 2022
Chong Fang, Chemistry, 2021
Ryan Mehl, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2019
Ethan Minot
, Physics, 2018
Michael Freitag
, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2017
Oksana Ostroverkhova, Physics, 2016
Rich Carter, Chemistry, 2015
Elisar Barbar, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2014
Virginia Weis, Zoology, 2013
Yun-Shik Lee, Physics 2012
Robert Mason, Zoology, 2011
Vincent Remcho, Chemistry, 2010
Edward Brook, Geosciences, 2009
Aaron Wolf, Geosciences, 2008
Janet Tate, Physics, 2007
Edward Waymire, Mathematics, 2006
Dawn Wright, Geosciences, 2005
Steve Giovannoni, Microbiology, 2003
Peter U. Clark, Geosciences, 2002
Andrew Karplus, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2001
Pui Shing Ho, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2000
John A. Ruben, Zoology, 1999
Arthur W. Sleight, Chemistry, 1998
Daniel J. Arp, Botany & Plant Pathology, 1997
Jon A. Kimerling, Geosciences, 1996
Andrew Blaustein, Zoology, 1995
Frank Moore, Zoology, 1994
William G. Dougherty, Microbiology, 1993
David W. Barnes, Biochem. & Biophysics, 1992
Steven J. Gould, Chemistry, 1991
Dennis Hruby, Microbiology, 1990
John Gardner, Physics, 1989
Michael Schimerlik, Biochem. & Biophysics, 1988
James White, Chemistry, 1987
Curtis Johnson, Jr., Biochem. & Biophysics, 1986
Victor Madsen, Physics, 1985
Richard Morita, Microbiology, 1984
Harold Evans, Nitrogen Fixation Laboratory, 1983

Back to Faculty and Staff Awards