Every year since 1946, the Loyd F. Carter Award has been presented to two outstanding College of Science faculty members: one for undergraduate teaching and one for graduate teaching. The purpose of the award is to encourage and recognize effective and inspirational teaching. The final selection is based on student nominations and voting.  

Nominate a faculty member now.


College of Science faculty who teach undergraduate and graduate studnets are eligible for nomination. Nominate a faculty member here. 

Selection Criteria 

Selection will be based on number of student nominations and the following evalaution criteria:

  • Number of student nominations
  • Demonstration of outstanding and inspirational teaching
  • Impact on equity in teaching

Previous Award Winners

Marilyn Mackiewicz, Chemistry, 2023 (graduate)
Paul Cheong, Chemistry, 2023 (undergraduate)
James MolyneuxStatistics, 2022 (graduate)
Kyriakos Stylianou, Chemistry, 2022 (undergraduate)
Charlotte Wickham, Statistics, 2021 (graduate)
Corinne Manogue, Physics, 2021 (undergraduate)
Katherine McLaughlin, Statistics, 2020 (graduate)
Devon Quick, Integrative Biology, 2020 (undergraduate)
Sandra Loesgen,
Chemistry, 2019 (graduate)
Nate Kirk,
Biology, 2019 (undergraduate)
David (Xiulei) Ji,
Chemistry, 2018 (graduate)
Daniel Myles,
Chemistry, 2018 (undergraduate)
Sarah Emerson, 
Statistics, 2017 (graduate)
Juliann Moore, Statistics, 2017 (undergraduate)
Oksana Ostroverkhova, Physics, 2016 (graduate)
Chris Coffin, Physics, 2016 (undergraduate)
Tory Hagen
, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2015 (graduate)
David Wing, Mathematics, 2015 (undergraduate)
Lisa Madsen, Statistics, 2013
Lori Kayes, Biology, 2013
Kevin Gable, Chemistry, 2012
Devon Quick, Zoology, 2012
Peter Clark, Geosciences, 2011
Paul Blakemore, Chemistry, 2011
Richard Nafshun, Chemistry, 2011
Tevian Dray, Mathematics 2011
Roy Haggerty, Geosciences, 2010
John Ruben, Zoology, 2010
Jeff Chang, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2009
Jeff Walker, Chemistry, 2009
Adam Kent, Geosciences, 2008
Indira Rajagopal, Biology, 2008
Douglas Warrick, Zoology, 2007
Tom Cochran, Science and Mathematics Education, 2007
Laurence Becker, Geosciences, 2006
Mark Patterson, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2006
Emile J. Firpo, Chemistry, 2005
Ronald E. Doel, Geosciences, 2005
Nicholas Drapela, Chemistry, 2004
Andrew Meigs, Geosciences, 2004
John Fowler, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2003
Andrew Blaustein, Zoology, 2003
Bruce McCune, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2002
Richard Nafshun, Chemistry, 2002
Robert Higdon, Mathematics, 2001
Michael Mix, Biology, 2001
David Horne, Chemistry, 2001
Mark Wilson, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2000
Virginia Weis, Zoology, 2000
Bruce McCune, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1999
Sherman Bloomer, Geosciences, 1999
Kevin Ahern, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 1999
Jeffrey Arthur, Statistics, 1998
David Birkes, Statistics, 1998
Mark Hixon, Zoology, 1998
Albert Stetz, Physics, 1997
Carroll DeKock, Chemistry, 1997
William Bogley, Mathematics, 1996
P. Shing Ho, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 1996
Steven Albrecht, Chemistry, 1996
Margaret Niess, Science and Math Education, 1995
Lynda Ciuffetti, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1995
Michael Schuyler, Chemistry, 1994
Mary Burke, Microbiology, 1994
Lung-Kee Chen, Mathematics, 1993
Patricia Muir, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1993
Philip Jackson, Geosciences, 1992
William Denison, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1992
Robert Burton, Mathematics, 1991
Janine Trempy, Microbiology, 1991
Peter Bottomley, Microbiology 1990
Lung-Kee Chen, Mathematics, 1990
Anita Grunder, Geosciences, 1989
Timothy Budd, Computer Science, 1989
Jon Kimerling, Geography, 1988
Thomas Dick, Mathematics, 1988
Carl Kocher, Physics, 1987
Cyrus Field, Geology, 1987
Joseph Nibler, Chemistry, 1986
Gary Musser, Mathematics, 1986
Keith Muckleston, Geography, 1985
William Burger, Mathematics, 1985
Michael Schuyler, Chemistry, 1984
David Stacy, Mathematics, 1984
William Taubeneck, Geology, 1983
Robert Higdon, Mathematics, 1983
Steven Esbensen, Atmospheric Sciences, 1982
Edward Taylor, Geology, 1982
David Butler, Statistics, 1981
Charles Rosenfeld, Geography, 1981
Kensal van Holde, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 1980
Albert Frank, Atmospheric Sciences, 1980
Michael Shaughnessy, Mathematics, 1979
Gordon Matzke, Geography, 1979
David Griffiths, Physics, 1978
David Birkes, Statistics, 1978
Justus Seely, Statistics, 1977
Jess Johnson, Geology, 1977
Leo Parks, Microbiology, 1976
Paul Farber, General Science, 1976
Mark Lembersky, Statistics, 1975
Robert Storm, Zoology, 1975
Max Williams, Chemistry, 1974
T. Darrah Thomas, Chemistry, 1974
James Lahey, Geography, 1973
Olaf Boedtker, Physics, 1973
John Fryer, Microbiology, 1972
John Lee, Mathematics, 1972
Ralph Quatrano, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1971
Dan Brunk, Statistics, 1971
William Simons, Mathematics, 1970
John Decius, Chemistry, 1970
Ronald Alvarado, Zoology, 1969
Dar Reese, Chemistry, 1968
Robert Becker, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 1967
Keith Oles, Geology, 1966
Ira Deep, Botany, 1965
John Byrne, Oceanography, 1964
Giles Maloof, Mathematics, 1963
Wendell Slabaugh, Chemistry, 1962
John Lattin, Entomology, 1961
Harry Freund, Chemistry, 1960
Theran Parsons, Chemistry, 1959
Larry Schecter, Physics, 1958
Harold Boyd, Geology, 1957
William Chilcote, Botany, 1956
Jerome Li, Mathematics, 1955
Vernon Cheldelin, Chemistry, 1954
Allen Scott, Chemistry, 1953
Arvid Lonseth, Mathematics, 1952
David Nicodemus, Physics, 1951
Howard Eves, Mathematics, 1950
James Brady, Physics, 1949
William Caldwell, Chemistry, 1948
Ernst Dornfeld, Zoology, 1947
Fred Morgan, Physics, 1946

Back to Faculty and Staff Awards