The purpose of the award is to recognize sustained excellence in teaching science by honoring a faculty member in the College of Science who has repeatedly demonstrated exceptional instructional qualities and has had a significant impact on students over a period of not less than five years. The award is $1500 and a wall plaque.


All College of Science faculty who teach students are eligible to be nominated for this award.

Selection Criteria

Nominees will be evaluated based on the following criteria by the Associate Dean of Student and Academic Affairs and two additional independent evaluators:

  • Demonstration of sustained excellence in teaching science and exceptional instructional qualities
  • Demonstration that teaching has had a significant impact on students
  • Teaching excellence has extended over 5 or more years
  • Impact on equity in teaching


Nominations can be submitted by anyone to the Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs in the College of Science. Nominations should clearly identify the quality and continuity of the nominee's instructional achievements and the period over which they extend. Previous nominations will be accepted for consideration for a 3-year period, with up-to-date material added by the deadline.

Nominations should be submitted via email to the Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs (Jessica Siegel) with the following materials:

  1. A nomination cover letter from the nominator
  2. A complete current curriculum vitae, with special attention to instructional activities and achievements.
  3. Three current letters from students and colleagues that provide evidence of the degree to which the candidate's instructional achievements over a sustained period are regarded as truly exceptional and the extent to which the candidate has had an impact on student learning.

Nominations should be submitted to Jessica Siegel(

Previous Award Winners

Mary Beisiegel, Mathematics, 2023
Liz Gire, Physics, 2022
Kari van Zee, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2021
Lesley Blair, Biology, 2020
Marita Barth,
Chemistry, 2019
Robert Mason,
Integrative Biology, 2018
William Bogley,
Mathematics, 2017
Indira Rajagopal, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2016
Jeff Kollath, Statistics, 2015
Daniel Myles, Chemistry, 2013
Linda Bruslind, Microbiology, 2012
David McIntyre, Physics, 2011
Glenn Evans, Chemistry, 2010
Virginia Weis, Zoology, 2009
Alix Gitelman, Statistics, 2008
Thomas P. Dick, Mathematics, 2007
Kevin Ahern, Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2006
Philip R. Watson, Chemistry, 2005
Tevian Dray, Mathematics, 2004
Joseph Spatafora, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2003
Richard Nafshun, Chemistry, 2003
Janet Tate, Physics, 2002
Michael Schuyler, Chemistry, 2001
Anita Grunder, Geosciences, 2001
Corinne Manogue, Physics, 2000
Lynda Ciuffetti, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2000
Janine Trempy, Microbiology, 1999
Patricia Muir, Botany and Plant Pathology, 1999
Andrew Blaustein, Zoology, 1999

Back to Faculty and Staff Awards