The stature of a college rests upon the quality of its faculty. Through the generosity of our donors and friends, the College of Science has been able to attract and retain top faculty, scholars and scientists while also supporting their passion for scientific inquiry and discovery. 

Endowed chairs or professorships are among the highest recognitions that a university can bestow on its faculty. Endowed and named faculty support funds provide reliable and lasting support for generation after generation of faculty. These gifts honor nationally and internationally known scholars, educators, researchers and leaders in their fields – empowering them to undertake groundbreaking research, develop exceptional learning opportunities for students and forge new paths in their field.

Below is a list of endowed faculty positions at the College of Science and any current holders of those positions. These endowed positions not only help create and sustain great colleges of science, but they also attract highly talented graduate and undergraduate science students who seek to learn from faculty of this caliber. 

Click here for a complete listing of the phenomenal OSU faculty who hold endowed chair or professorships.

  1. Chuck and Robin Armstrong and Family Professor in Basic Science
  2. Terence Bradshaw Chemistry Professor
  3. Thomas P. Cavaiani Professor in Mathematics
  4. Bert and Emelyn Christensen Professor
  5. Joel Davis Faculty Scholar in Mathematics
  6. College of Science Faculty Scholar
  7. Excellence in Microbiology Faculty Scholar
  8. Dr. Russ and Dolores Gorman Faculty Scholar
  9. Milton Harris Chair of Materials Science
  10. Eileen and Norbert Hartmann Faculty Scholar
  11. Emile F. Pernot Distinguished Professor in Microbiology
  12. Patricia Valian Reser Faculty Scholar
  13. Harold E. and Leona M. Rice Professor in Systematic Entomology
  14. Stewart Chair in Gene Research
  15. Wayne and Gladys Valley Chair in Marine Biology
  16. Whiteley Faculty Scholar