COS Advisors

Central COS Academic Advisors

Heather Arbuckle, COS Head Advisor
heather.arbuckle@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4786

Jen Olarra, COS Student Success Advisor
Jennifer.olarra@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3270

Advisors by Department

Biochemistry and Biophysics Advisors

Integrative Biology Advisors

Chemistry Advisors

Microbiology Advisors

Mathematics Advisors

First Year Student Mathematics Advisors:
Dave Wing, david.wing@oregonstate.edu
Sara Clark, sara.clark@oregonstate.edu

Physics Advisors or phys-advising@science.oregonstate.edu

College Advisors

For a complete list of all OSU academic advisors and counselors, go to the Canvas for Advisors page.

Agricultural Sciences

Head Advisor: Michelle McAllaster
Michelle.mcallaster@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: casstudy@oregonstate.edu

College of Agricultural Sciences Advisor Directory

Business

Head Advisor: Kyle Ross
Kyle.ross@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: StudentServices@bus.oregonstate.edu

College of Business Advisor Directory

Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences

Head Advisor: Mary Chuinard
Mary.chuinard@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: ceoas.undergrad@oregonstate.edu

College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences Advisor Directory

Education

Head Advisor: TBD
104G Furman Hall
541-737-2998
askcoed@oregonstate.edu

Engineering

Head Advisor: Brett Jeter
Brett.jeter@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: askengineering@oregonstate.edu

College of Engineering Advisor Directory

Liberal Arts

Head Advisor: Tristen Shay
Tristen.shay@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: liberalarts@oregonstate.edu

College of Liberal Arts Advisor Directory

Pharmacy

Head Advisor: Angela Austin
Angela.austin@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: pharmacy@oregonstate.edu

Pharmacy Advisor Directory

Public Health and Human Sciences

Head Advisor: Erin Heim
Erin.heim@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: PHHS.Peer@oregonstate.edu

Public Health and Human Sciences

University Exploratory Studies Program (Undeclared Majors)

Head Advisor: Kerry Kincanon
Kerry.kincanon@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: uesp.advisor@oregonstate.edu

University Exploratory Studies Program Advisor Directory

University Honors College

Head Advisor: Rebekah Lancelin
Rebekah.lancelin@oregonstate.edu
Alternative Email: uhcadvisor@oregonstate.edu

University Honors College Advisors Directory

OSU Cascades Campus

Head Advisor: Dianna McGinnis
Dianna.mcginnis@oregonstate.edu

Cascades Advisor Directory

Changing Major/Program

College procedures for major declaration

Pre-Approved Minors List & Declaration Protocol

Overrides

  • Students requesting overrides for classes must be directed to the department offering the course; our office/any advisor cannot issue overrides.
  • Chemistry, Math, and Biochemistry & Biophysics overrides now have a form to fill out on the following websites, just have a student go on their laptop/our computers and fill out the form.
  • Writing 121 overrides can be sent to Steven Kunert: skunert@oregonstate.edu
    • The department does not issue overrides for WR 121 past the first week of the term.
  • LBCC Overrides: If students are taking a series at OSU, but wants to finish the series at LBCC, but need an override to finish the series, overrides are done online here and will take a couple days to process.

Office of the Registrar

  • Class standing
  • Ordering OSU transcripts
  • Deficient Foreign Language hold (and student took language coursework at OSU)
  • Re-setting MyOregonState password
  • Upper division credit deficiency holds
  • Late changes of registration
  • Change of grading basis
  • Withdraw from the University
  • FERPA
  • Academic residency

PDF of directory of the Office of the Registrar

Kristin Benson, Associate Registrar-Compliance
kristin.benson@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2012

  • Oversees teams handling graduation, technology, projects, continued academic athletic eligibility, veterans certification, and FERPA compliance
  • PELP
  • Academic Fresh Start
  • veteran priority registration
  • ROTC commission letters
  • compliance-related records changes
  • ARC and ASC ex-officio

Rick Brown, Military Student Services Specialist
richard.brown@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0747

  • VA education benefit certification
  • TA contracts and benefits
  • tuition programs for military-connected students

Karren Cholewinski, Executive Assistant to the Associate Provost & Registrar
karren.cholewinski@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6616

  • Appointments w/Rebecca
  • Visa Commencement Letters
  • Conference room questions/reservations
  • Notary services and questions Administration, Conference Room Reservations

Justin Curtis, VA Education Benefit Compliance Officer
Justin.curtis@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0747

  • Questions regarding VA policy interpretation and procedures

Allyson Dean, Communications, Research, and Policy Manager
Allyson.Dean@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6634

  • FERPA
  • Data requests
  • Training requests
  • Communications

Office of Admissions

  • Transfer credit articulation
  • Deficient Foreign Language hold (and student took language coursework elsewhere or took proficiency test)
  • High school transcript holds
  • Timeline for transcript evaluations from other institutions
  • Where should transfer credit transcripts be sent?
  • Residency questions (for billing)
  • Admission Application PIN reset or login reset
  • Student Recruitment
  • Degree Partnership Program

Residency questions: residency@oregonstate.edu
Articulation errors, edits, updates: transferbeavs@oregonstate.edu
Transfer decisions, applications: partnerships@oregonstate.edu
Post bacc decisions, applications: admsoperations@oregonstate.edu
General application questions: osuadmit@oregonstate.edu
Final High School transcript holds/other transcript holds: osuadmit@oregonstate.edu
Admissions foreign language clearing: osuadmit@oregonstate.edu
Non-degree application questions: osuadmit@oregonstate.edu
Checking if a transcript or test scores have been received for an applicant/student: osuadmit@oregonstate.edu

Blake Vawter, Sr. Associate Director of Admissions
blake.vawter@oregonstate.edu
541-737-9807

  • Responsible for OSU admissions team
  • Support for Slate
  • Off-site recruitment questions

Rick DeBellis, Associate Director of Enrollment Management/Partnership Programs
Rick.debellis@oregonstate.edu
547-737-2790

  • Coordinates OSU Degree Partnership Program
  • Main contact for HI partnership schools

Erin Rau, Assoc. Director, Operations
Erin.rau@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0579

  • Oversees Admissions evaluations and operations teams
  • Transcript articulations, course equivalency articulations

Heather Wofford, Sr. Assistant Director of Admissions for Multicultural Recruitment
Heather.Wofford@oregonstate.edu
541-737-9808

  • Responsible for Multicultural student recruitment efforts and events
  • Support/contact for on-campus recruitment events

Bridget Jones, Sr. Associate Director, Transfer Student Admissions
Bridget.jones@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6454

  • Oversees Transfer Student Recruitment team
  • OSU Transfer "Drive-In" (to be renamed)
  • Transfer student recruitment events (on-and off-campus)

Noah Buckley, Director, Office of Admissions
Noah.buckley@oregonstate.edu

Jose Ceja Garibay, Manager - Transfer Student Services
Jose.cejagaribay@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2562

Melissa Lee, Transfer Services Manager
Melissa.lee@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3522

  • Supports students currently at Portland Community College campuses who intend to transfer to OSU
  • Former Transfer Student Advisor for COS, can help with COS transfer student support and questions

Financial Aid

General office contacts available in the Canvas for Advisors site.

Kathleen Hayes, Administrative Support
Kathleen.hayes@oregonstate.edu

  • Helpful with general student questions and support

Financial Aid: General Info

As of March 23, 2020, the Office of Financial Aid will not offer in-person advising in response to COVID-19 safety protocol recommendations.

  • We will be available by phone 10 am–4 pm Monday through Friday at 541-737-2241.
  • We will also have Zoom advising as an option between 10 am–4 pm Monday through Friday.
  • Please call our office to set up a Zoom appointment and for other information about our operations while our office is closed to in-person visits. Alternatively, email our office anytime at financial.aid@oregonstate.edu as well.

College of Science Scholarships

Heather Arbuckle

  • Student eligibility, exceptions, applications, and student account payments

Tze-Yiu Yong

  • Foundation account support, ScholarDollars support

OSU Scholarships

Scholarship.office@oregonstate.edu

Equal Opportunities Program

Equal Opportunities Staff Directory

Dorian Smith & Jason Dorsette - Black Student Access Initiative

  • Black student support
  • Black Community connections and support

Raina Martinez - DACA Student Support

TRiO/Student Support Services

TRiO/Student Support Services Staff Directory

College Assistance Migrant Program

College Assistance Migrant Program Staff Directory

Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation

Kameron Kadooka, LSAMP Program Coordinator
Kameron.kadooka@oregonstate.edu

Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation

Human Services Resource Center

Human Services Resource Center Staff Directory

hsrc@oregonstate.edu
hsrc.foodpantry@oregonstate.edu

Career Development Center

Tzu-Chin (Claire) Wu, Assistant Director of Career Development
claire.wu@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3859

Career Development Center Staff Directory

Department Administration

Biochemistry and Biophysics Department Staff

Chemistry Department Staff

Integrated Biology Department Staff

Mathematics Department Staff

Microbiology Department Staff

Physics Department Staff

Statistics Department Staff

Dean's Office

Roy Haggerty, Dean
roy.haggerty@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3886

Henri Jansen, Associate Dean - Academic and Student Affairs
henri.jansen@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4645

  • Oversees undergraduate student academics and engagement
  • Responsible for COS undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Vrushali Bokil, Associate Dean - Graduate Studies and Research
bokilv@math.oregonstate.edu
541-737-6736

  • COS Research
  • COS Graduate student support

Bettye Maddux, Director of Research Development
bettye.maddux@oregonstate.edu
541-737-7304
Proposals

Kim McQueen, Executive Assistant to the Dean
kim.mcqueen@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3886

  • Support for Dean Haggerty
  • Reserving space in Kidder
  • Kidder Hall Facilities Contact

Andrew Wheeler, Director - College of Science Information Network
andrew.wheeler@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3846
CoSINe

Tze-Yiu Yong, Project and Event Manager
tzeyiu.yong@oregonstate.edu
541-737-378

  • Support for Scholarships & Funding

Gabs James, Associate Director of Student Engagement
gabs.james@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3279

COS Marketing

  • Department newsletters
  • COS Recruitment media, marketing, and materials
  • COS website administration
  • COS Annual Report

Tamara Cissna, Director of Marketing and Communications
tamara.cissna@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3274

Sharon Betterton, Senior Graphic Designer
sharon.betterton@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3882

  • All things design
  • Support for COS website

Cari Longman, Marketing Manager
cari.longman@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4811

  • Supports Director with coordination and operations

Srila Nayak, Senior Marketing Writer and Content Strategist
srila.nayak@oregonstate.edu
541-737-5831

  • Science content writer

Mole Hole

Mole Hole

Margie Haak
Margie.haak@oregonstate.edu

Worm Hole

The Wormhole, Physics Collaboration and Help Center
Wormhole staffing hours are M-F 10 AM-6 PM.

The Wormhole will run remotely through Slack.

Vole Hole

Math & Stats Learning Center

Kidder Hall 108
Corvallis, OR 97331-4605
541-737-5146

Thomas P. Dick, Faculty Director

Wendy Aaron, Coordinator

Daily hours for drop-in tutoring help for Winter '21 are:

Monday-Thursday: 10am-8pm
Friday: 10am-6pm
Saturday: Noon-3pm
Sunday: 3pm-6pm

Veterans

Willie Elfering, Military & Veteran Resources Advisor
William.elfering@oregonstate.edu
541-737-7662

  • A convenient point of contact.
  • An evolving network of university-wide partnerships working to continuously improve programs and services.
  • A conduit to local, state, federal, and university programs and services.
  • A connection to other student veterans.
  • A place to relax or work on your course work on campus.

Veteran Certifying Officials
veterans@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0747

  • Getting started with your VA Educational Benefits.
  • Facilitation of VA Certification Paperwork.
  • Financial questions associated with your VA benefits.
  • In-State tuition rates for student veterans.
  • Priority Registration.

Athletes

Dr. Kate Halischak, Director, Student Athlete Academic Services
halischk@oregonstate.edu
547-737-9338
321 Beth Ray Center

INTO

Kate Kerish, INTO OSU Academic Success Coordinator
Kate.kerish@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4947
182 ILLC

  • Very helpful with INTO student progression
  • INTO student advising & registration

Elena Sapp, Director, Academic Programs INTO OSU
Elena.sapp@oregonstate.edu
547-737-6991
180 ILLC

Ernest Shirosky, INTO OSU Undergraduate Pathways Program Manager
Ernest.shirosky@oregonstate.edu
547-737-4101
182 ILLC

Jerry Daniels, INTO OSU Undergraduate Progression Advisor
Jerry.daniels@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2961
B009c Kerr Admin Bldg

INTO OSU Website

INTO Contact Directory

International Student Success

Office of International Services Contacts

Alternate Link to Contacts

Office of International Services Website

Transfer Professionals Directory

Transfer Professionals Directory

Central Lost and Found

lost.and.found@oregonstate.edu

Report a lost item

541-737-7240

CoSINe

CORD 1003
helpdesk@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-5574

CoSINe website

Helpdesk ticket

Undergraduate Research in Science & the Arts

Undergraduate Research in Science & the Arts Contacts

Undergraduate Research in Science & the Arts Website

Disability Access Services

Disability Access Services Staff Directory

Disability Access Services Website

E-Campus Success Coaching

E-Campus Success Coach Directory